BDSM, submission and PTSD (or any other mental illness)

Selene

Kinky Newbie
  • Bisexual
  • Female
  • Submissive
Aug 18, 2017
Hello :)

I am new to submission and there are a few things that worry me. One of them is that I suffer from PTSD and playing sessions give me intense flashbacks and panic attacks that are hard to control. It is getting in the way and even though I have safe words, I find myself using them too late or not at all.

So, I just wanted to ask the dominants if you ever had a sub with the same problem, or if one of your subs had a mental illness of any short and how you delt with that. On the other hand if you are a submissive who's dealing with PTSD or other psychological problems, I'd like to ask you for some advice and coping techniques during and after play.

Selene

Kinky Newbie
  • Bisexual
  • Female
  • Submissive
Aug 18, 2017
Also another thing I would like to ask is whether you would consider your potential sub's mental state a reason to not proceed to a D/s relationship with them. It's hard and I feel like most dominants would prefer someone who is "normal". What are your views on this?

Doctor Pervert

Retired
  • Straight
  • Male
  • Private
May 19, 2013
I think you pretty much know the answer here, PTSD is a serious condition and avoiding triggering events is key while you continue therapy.
Many if not most BDSM activities have the potential to put psychological stress on you and as such it would not be advisable to continue until your condition improves significantly.

dariodragon7

Kink Talk Member
  • Straight
  • Male
  • Dominant
Jul 13, 2015